Imminent SCOTUS abortion ruling set to boost midterm voter turnout, poll finds


The 26 states where abortion will likely become illegal if SCOTUS overturns Roe vs Wade after leaked draft notice showed majority of justices backed ruling

More than half of all US states have some sort of abortion ban law likely to go into effect if Roe v Wade is overturned by the US Supreme Court.

According to pro-reproduction rights group The Guttmacher Institute, there are 26 states that will likely make abortions illegal if the Supreme Court overturns the landmark 1973 ruling.

18 have existing abortion bans that have already been ruled unconstitutional, four have delay bans and four are likely to pass laws if Roe v Wade is overturned, the organization found.

The 18 states that have already banned abortion almost completely include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, ‘Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and West Virginia. , Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Additionally, Georgia, Iowa, Ohio, and South Carolina all have laws prohibiting abortion after six weeks.

Florida, Indiana, Montana and Nebraska will likely pass bills when Roe v Wade is overturned, the Guttmacher Institute said.

Bans in Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin all have prior laws to Roe v Wade which became unenforceable after the 1973 Supreme Court decision – which would take effect if the federal legal precedent set in Roe were overturned.

Arkansas, Oklahoma, Mississippi and Texas have other bans that will go into effect if the law is overturned. These were passed after Roe v Wade.

They are joined by Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming in passing such laws.

States that will limit abortions based on the length of a patient’s pregnancy include Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, North Dakota and Ohio.

There are four states that have laws that say abortion is not a constitutionally protected right: Alabama, Louisiana, Texas, and West Virginia.

Source link

Comments are closed.